How Does Your PS3 Freeze?

Post » Wed May 16, 2012 1:43 am

Just wondering how bad your PS3's are freezing on Skyrim? personally I am having hard freezes where I can't even turn off the console. How about you?
User avatar
Darian Ennels
 
Posts: 3142
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2007 2:00 pm

Post » Tue May 15, 2012 6:08 pm

Well, to be honest I put a coat on my PS3 to keep it warm, and in Skyrim, I give my guy a jacket so he wont freeze :D
User avatar
Heather beauchamp
 
Posts: 3163
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 6:05 pm

Post » Wed May 16, 2012 12:19 am

Well, to be honest I put a coat on my PS3 to keep it warm, and in Skyrim, I give my guy a jacket so he wont freeze :D


If your by any chance a comedian my assumption is that you sir are unemployed.
User avatar
Nathan Risch
 
Posts: 3054
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:15 pm

Post » Tue May 15, 2012 4:37 pm

If your by any chance a comedian my assumption is that you sir are unemployed.

Your assumption is too serious for his comment...
User avatar
Nathan Hunter
 
Posts: 3173
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 9:58 am

Post » Tue May 15, 2012 7:07 pm

Your assumption is too serious for his comment...

Your assumption is too serious to see that I wasn't being overtly serious. Is there any chance that I could get a valid response from some users or should I just realize that I lost control of my thread and go bake some troll biscuits?
User avatar
loste juliana
 
Posts: 3131
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 7:37 pm

Post » Wed May 16, 2012 2:44 am

Mine doesn't freeze permanently, but it does freeze anywhere between 3-10 seconds every 5 seconds or so if I am moving around outside cities in the open wilderness and whatnot. Not really sure what is causing this, but it sorta makes running around the open world a game-breaking task for me.

It's as if my PS3 can't keep up with all of the textures and has to stop to load everything before I can proceed. Hopefully it's not a hardware issue, I've only had my PS3 (120gb Slim to be exact) for about two years, and every other game has run just fine until now :confused:
User avatar
Aman Bhattal
 
Posts: 3124
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 12:01 am

Post » Tue May 15, 2012 9:14 pm

Hi All,

I just wrote my crash issue on this thread: http://www.gamesas.com/index.php?/topic/1283562-ps3-slim-crushed-on-quest-in-my-time-of-need-valtheim/#entry19375709.

It keeps on crashing on my quest (In My Time Of Need) near Valtheim Bridge.
User avatar
Auguste Bartholdi
 
Posts: 3210
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:20 am

Post » Tue May 15, 2012 6:54 pm

Your assumption is too serious to see that I wasn't being overtly serious. Is there any chance that I could get a valid response from some users or should I just realize that I lost control of my thread and go bake some troll biscuits?

If I failed to make anyone laugh, then I must fail at life lol, well to be honest I was not even suppose to make you laugh xD
User avatar
Bedford White
 
Posts: 2998
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 2:09 am

Post » Tue May 15, 2012 8:02 pm

Mine doesn't freeze permanently, but it does freeze anywhere between 3-10 seconds every 5 seconds or so if I am moving around outside cities in the open wilderness and whatnot. Not really sure what is causing this, but it sorta makes running around the open world a game-breaking task for me.

I feel for you Juhmel. I personally have never had any game lock up the PS3 where it would not even shut down after a freeze. I could eject the disc but no matter how long I held down the power button the unit would not shut down. After that happening three time I had to stop playing it. I play other games and the unit works fine. Only Skyrim does it. But thanks alot for your response.
User avatar
Amelia Pritchard
 
Posts: 3172
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 2:40 am

Post » Tue May 15, 2012 3:47 pm

I feel for you Juhmel. I personally have never had any game lock up the PS3 where it would not even shut down after a freeze. I could eject the disc but no matter how long I held down the power button the unit would not shut down. After that happening three time I had to stop playing it. I play other games and the unit works fine. Only Skyrim does it. But thanks alot for your response. I should also add that I do not have my PS3 connected to the internet so my issues with Skyrim are issues with no patches installed.
User avatar
Penny Flame
 
Posts: 3083
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 1:53 am

Post » Tue May 15, 2012 9:16 pm

Mine does not.
User avatar
Chad Holloway
 
Posts: 3106
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 5:21 am

Post » Tue May 15, 2012 8:46 pm

Mine does not.
User avatar
krystal sowten
 
Posts: 3071
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 6:25 pm

Post » Tue May 15, 2012 5:09 pm

sometimes.......when i have played for more than 6 hours...
User avatar
Jinx Sykes
 
Posts: 3212
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 11:12 pm

Post » Wed May 16, 2012 3:20 am

I haven't play Skyrim yet but my PS3 goes that bad freezing quite often while playing Battlefield Bad Company. Mostly when flying chopper but it does that other sitsuations aswell. I have to turn off my PS3 from main power switch on the back becouse anything else dosn't work.
User avatar
Jennifer Munroe
 
Posts: 3145
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 12:57 am

Post » Tue May 15, 2012 7:45 pm

My game does a hard freeze while running around in open world, currently any place east of Whiterun, started at Riften, then locks out video. Audio continues, and will continue into the next 2 hours, timed it, but the aame stagnant screen. On the new slims I can not perform a hard reset bhy holding down the button. Also, when fast traveling to these locations, I will consistently keep loading. Again, timed for 2. hours while eating and floating these forum posts. This is also starting now to happen anywhere west of Solitude. It's like 2 giant walls of fail spanning north and south, and each time that line is crossed comes another corrupt save file. Sad panda.
User avatar
Annika Marziniak
 
Posts: 3135
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 6:22 am

Post » Wed May 16, 2012 2:28 am

Mine has only frozen twice in 38 hours of game play. Once when I went into the menu to save and once just randomly walking around. Both after hours of play. I feel like that's pretty normal and not related to the game itself.
User avatar
Sarah Knight
 
Posts: 3132
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:02 am

Post » Wed May 16, 2012 2:37 am

Mine has frozen/locked up four times. Not just freezes where it halts for a bit and then comes back. These were freezes that lasted more than 1 minute and caused me to hard reset the ps3. Locations when it happened:

1) Talking to a vendor in Whiterun. Froze as the dialog was about to start
2) Fighting the Snow Troll on the Throat Of The World.
3) Fighting a "Reluctant Ghost" (I forget the name of the location). I think the game was about to go into one of the animations when you score a critical hit.
4) During what I assume was about to be a Dragon's appearance in Morthal. I note that the game stops for about 2 seconds when a dragon shows up anywhere. The dragon had been terrorizing the town before that and then it just locked up again, so I assume he was coming back.

3 and 4 happened within an hour of each other. I am about 20 hours in and my save file sits at about 5.5 meg. Lag and problems started for me about 5.1 meg.
User avatar
kirsty williams
 
Posts: 3205
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 5:56 am

Post » Tue May 15, 2012 9:19 pm

Hi. I had like 3 freezes 2 at loading screens and 1 while exploring. I think the game'll crash more until a decent patch is done. :shakehead:
User avatar
i grind hard
 
Posts: 3178
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 2:58 am

Post » Tue May 15, 2012 11:41 pm

My game does a hard freeze while running around in open world, currently any place east of Whiterun, started at Riften, then locks out video. Audio continues, and will continue into the next 2 hours, timed it, but the aame stagnant screen. On the new slims I can not perform a hard reset bhy holding down the button. Also, when fast traveling to these locations, I will consistently keep loading. Again, timed for 2. hours while eating and floating these forum posts. This is also starting now to happen anywhere west of Solitude. It's like 2 giant walls of fail spanning north and south, and each time that line is crossed comes another corrupt save file. Sad panda.

Same here. It freezes and crashes in loading screens quite a bit (4-5 times) which is annoying considering i've turned of autosave. It literally just froze while taking on the silver hand in the fort outside of riften. Music kept going but the picture froze and never came back. First time it has frozen "in game". I am rebuilding database now and hoping for positive results. Prolly be fixed with the patch this.. Wouldnt be a big deal if I had autosave,
User avatar
Louise
 
Posts: 3129
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 1:06 pm

Post » Wed May 16, 2012 2:43 am

Slight freezing of like half a second to a few. But no full on freezing.
User avatar
Timara White
 
Posts: 3194
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 7:39 am

Post » Wed May 16, 2012 1:21 am

2 freezes (complete game lock ups requiring powering off console via power button) in ~35 hours of game play. One during combat (one handed melee attacks) with a bandit. One during dialog with a quest NPC (Helgi). First lock up occurred in under an hour of turning the console on, second lock up occurred in under 20 minutes of turning the console on (meaning I don't assume there's an over heating issue, nor have any other non Bethesda games locked up on me). This is on a PS3 Slim with a 500 GB aftermarket hard drive

Not very surprising, as I have had similar issues in every other Bethesda game played from Morrowind onward, however it would be nice if the issues would eventually get resolved - preferably with Bethesda actually reaching out to their customers and maintaining open communications through the process.
User avatar
Kayleigh Mcneil
 
Posts: 3077
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 7:32 am

Post » Tue May 15, 2012 5:32 pm

Just to clarify define "Hard Freeze"
User avatar
Tom
 
Posts: 3165
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 7:39 pm

Post » Wed May 16, 2012 1:07 am

One freeze at hour 29, had to push the power button. The system shut itself down after a few seconds with the "I do not respond right"-Peep. I'm using a slim with 120gig. Skyrim and New Vegas are the only games that did that.
User avatar
Albert Wesker
 
Posts: 3220
Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 11:17 pm

Post » Wed May 16, 2012 12:57 am

If your by any chance a comedian my assumption is that you sir are unemployed.
I have to ask if you watched Whitest Kids You Know.
User avatar
Lizbeth Ruiz
 
Posts: 3082
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 1:35 pm

Post » Tue May 15, 2012 6:13 pm

Anyway Game just froze up on me in loadscreen, and not like haha im stuck i nthe load screen, but haha you got effed and got the black screen of death.
User avatar
ZANEY82
 
Posts: 3041
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 3:10 am


Return to V - Skyrim