FastExit2 vs. Windom Earle's Obl. Crash Prevention System

Post » Mon Sep 12, 2011 8:34 am

Hi guys!

I've already got FastExit 2 installed, but the Windom Earle thingy (love his name!) seems really cool...

Question:

1) are the compatible / complementary?

2) is Earle's utility any good?

3) any probs with Streamline?


I'm asking coz I'm getting quite a few CTDs and frankly its a pain.

(I'm pretty handy with Wrye Bash by now, edit cleaning, bashed patch, BOSS, load order, got those down pretty good, so additional links regarding those arent necessary)
User avatar
Jerry Cox
 
Posts: 3409
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 1:21 pm

Post » Mon Sep 12, 2011 6:00 am

I have around 400 mods installed, and never crash. It could be you need to do things more carefully and methodically.

As for the mod in question, it is at best a temporary patch for various unspecificied ills.

It does not conflict with FE2 though, for what that is worth. Personally, my advice is, stick with what you have, and - as I alluded to above - go through your mods again, read the readme files (and heed their advice), look up current release threads, and maybe have a look here too: http://tescosi.com/wiki/Main_Page
User avatar
TOYA toys
 
Posts: 3455
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 4:22 am

Post » Sun Sep 11, 2011 10:55 pm

I have around 400 mods installed, and never crash. It could be you need to do things more carefully and methodically.

As for the mod in question, it is at best a temporary patch for various unspecificied ills.

It does not conflict with FE2 though, for what that is worth. Personally, my advice is, stick with what you have, and - as I alluded to above - go through your mods again, read the readme files (and heed their advice), look up current release threads, and maybe have a look here too: http://tescosi.com/wiki/Main_Page


400 mods?!?

I thought Wrye Bash's limit is at 255... or is that after bashed patching?
User avatar
Brad Johnson
 
Posts: 3361
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 7:19 pm

Post » Mon Sep 12, 2011 12:30 pm

Bashing and merging allows you to get by that limit. And it's not WB's limit, it's what the game can handle. I think there still is a limit on how many files can be in the data folder.

Anyway, they don't conflict, i'm using them all. I still get more crashes than prevented crashes, though :shrug: I think i'm just pushing the poor engine too hard.
User avatar
Anthony Rand
 
Posts: 3439
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 5:02 am

Post » Mon Sep 12, 2011 4:09 am

Are you by any chance using kuertee's "Clean-Up"?

I was thinking about doing that, just scared it might delete stuff that I'd rather keep lying around...
User avatar
Danial Zachery
 
Posts: 3451
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 5:41 am

Post » Mon Sep 12, 2011 11:40 am

I even have no clue what that is :hehe:
User avatar
Elizabeth Lysons
 
Posts: 3474
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 7:16 am

Post » Sun Sep 11, 2011 10:24 pm

I even have no clue what that is :hehe:


Just wondering, do you use any autosave functions? if so, which?
I read that its probably best setting them in streamline...

i just had another CTD after extensive loot sorting, which is really annoying since i always forget saving afterwards, so maybe i should rethink using autosaves.
User avatar
Bee Baby
 
Posts: 3450
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:47 am

Post » Mon Sep 12, 2011 10:20 am

Just wondering, do you use any autosave functions? if so, which?


As for a autosave mod, you might want to take a look at this one from Duke Patrick. (spookyfx.com on these forums. :) )

http://www.gamesas.com/index.php?/topic/1228478-relz-duke-patricks-safe-save/
User avatar
Bek Rideout
 
Posts: 3401
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 7:00 pm

Post » Mon Sep 12, 2011 9:42 am

Just wondering, do you use any autosave functions? if so, which?
I read that its probably best setting them in streamline...


I usually have them all off, but i've left them all on this time. Sometimes crashes on cell switch, but mostly have caused no trouble. None have corrupted yet either in 110 hours with current character.
User avatar
Shae Munro
 
Posts: 3443
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 11:32 am

Post » Mon Sep 12, 2011 1:03 am

Coincidentally, I was just researching these two mods myself last night. I was interested because my Oblivion randomly disappears on me. The whole thing just goes...poof! No freezes, no error messages. It vanishes and a split-second later I'm looking at my desktop.

A few of the comments about weOCPS over at TES Nexus are claiming it has corrupted their saves. Has anybody here experienced this?
User avatar
Ash
 
Posts: 3392
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 8:59 am

Post » Mon Sep 12, 2011 12:14 pm

I've had weOCPS installed pretty much every time i've played Oblivion and can count my corrupted saves with one hand :hehe:
User avatar
Nicholas
 
Posts: 3454
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 12:05 am

Post » Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:53 am

I've been using WEOCPS & FastExit2 in tandem for quite a long time, and I've never had trouble with either one. They've saved me so much grief that I'll probably never play the game again without both of them. That said, I don't use Streamline, so I don't know how that might change things.
User avatar
Ross Thomas
 
Posts: 3371
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2007 12:06 am

Post » Mon Sep 12, 2011 1:42 pm

I've got all three, (StremLine just for StreamSaves) I think the thoughts are, something causes a crash, and if it's Prevented, then it gets saved in the savefile, and those build up, corupting your game. :shrug:
User avatar
Makenna Nomad
 
Posts: 3391
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 10:05 pm

Post » Mon Sep 12, 2011 7:22 am

The nature of weOCPS makes data corruption in your saves a legitimate risk. Any time you forcefully bypass crashes you could be preserving junk data the game doesn't want and can't accept. If people say they're getting corrupt saves, I'm not the least bit surprised by that.
User avatar
Far'ed K.G.h.m
 
Posts: 3464
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 11:03 pm

Post » Mon Sep 12, 2011 4:14 am

Coincidentally, I was just researching these two mods myself last night. I was interested because my Oblivion randomly disappears on me. The whole thing just goes...poof! No freezes, no error messages. It vanishes and a split-second later I'm looking at my desktop.

A few of the comments about weOCPS over at TES Nexus are claiming it has corrupted their saves. Has anybody here experienced this?


Yes. It was a 200+ hours save which the game refused to load. I had to revert back to an earlier save and wipe weOCPS out of the system.
User avatar
Rhysa Hughes
 
Posts: 3438
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 3:00 pm

Post » Mon Sep 12, 2011 12:11 pm

I Don't Generally run WeOcpS, but I started this game with it enabled insteaded of FastExit2, by the time I'd realized it, I allready had over 150 hours on it.
User avatar
Stacey Mason
 
Posts: 3350
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 6:18 am


Return to IV - Oblivion

cron