Help me fix the Dawnguard 3rd-person bug?

Post » Sun Nov 18, 2012 2:34 pm

NOTE: for some reason I am not allowed to post links, so I can't link to the forum topics here and at Skyrim Nexus that detail this problem. Anyone know a way around this?

I am one of the lucky (ahem) owners of Dawnguard on PC who was struck with the 'cannot stay in 1st-person mode for more than a second' bug, as detailed on this forum and over at Skyrim Nexus' forums.

Somebody mentioned that it seems like it happens every second, or every two seconds, and that most likely this meant that the game was erroneously running some kind of script that regularly checked the view state and then forced it into 1st-person.

From researching this issue on this and other forums, I found that there is a function available within Papyrus to check the player's state [Game.GetPlayer().GetAnimationVariableInt("i1stPerson")], and whether it's currently in 1st-person or 3rd-person, and then force one or the other (Game.ForceThirdPerson()). I made a simple script that performed this check when the player clicks on a stone in a test cell, and I proved to myself that you can in fact force the view to change back to 1st-person from 3rd-person:

Scriptname KillThirdPerson extends ObjectReference  Event OnActivate(ObjectReference akActionRef)	 If Game.GetPlayer().GetAnimationVariableInt("i1stPerson") == 0			Game.ForceFirstPerson()			Debug.MessageBox("Was 3rd Person")	 else			Debug.MessageBox("Was 1st Person")	 endifendEvent

But, exactly as happens when using the 'toggle FOV' key, it reverts back to 3rd-person almost immediately. But it occurred to me that it might be possible to write a script that uses OnState to check the player's state say, ten times per second, and whenever it finds the state in 3rd-person, it switches it to 1st-person; meaning that effectively, you would only ever be in 3rd-person view for a tenth of a second at most. Depending on how much computational load this puts on the game, it might be possible to bump up the repetition rate such that you'd never see yourself in 3rd-person. The last step, of course, would be to somehow bind this script to an object in-game, or a power or effect or something.

As you can probably tell, I am a complete beginner at this. I spent almost the entire day today reading tutorials on the Creation Kit site, as well lots of others on different sites. I've tried a bunch of different things -- in particular, tried to implement the OnState calls that allow an event to be repeated every X seconds, and is discussed in a tutorial over at The Engineering Guild, but for the life of me I just can't make any progress.

But I have a strong feeling that someone with more scripting experience could probably put this together pretty quickly. So might anyone want to give me a hand here, or at least some pointers? Basically I want to do this:

1) Create a ring that will be automatically be given to the player upon load
2) Equipping this ring will start a script that checks every Nth of a second on the GetAnimationVariableInt("i1stPerson") property, and if it ever finds it to == 0, it will issue a Game.ForceFirstPerson().
3) Unequipping the ring will stop this script, thereby allowing the player to go back into 3rd-person mode if they choose.

So does this have any chance of working? Might there be a better way to do it?
User avatar
Lew.p
 
Posts: 3430
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 5:31 pm

Post » Sun Nov 18, 2012 10:17 am

I have not seen the previous posts about this issue.

However, if only some people are getting the issue, then it seems unlikely to be a bug in the DawnGuard code.

What other MODs are you running?? If the answer is any at all, switch them off - untick them in the Data Files part of the game loader - then start the game (with just dawnguard enabled). Then start A NEW GAME (do not test with a save!) and see if the problem persists.

(If it does persist then post up again and I'll go hunting for more information ... If it does not persist please post, because you have fixed it :wink:)
User avatar
Isabella X
 
Posts: 3373
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 3:44 am

Post » Sun Nov 18, 2012 11:11 am

Thanks for the reply. I wish I could post links for the threads I was talking about - I still don't understand why I'm not "allowed to", maybe I don't have a high enough post count yet? Anyway, a search for 'dawnguard third person' find these threads fairly quickly both here and over at the Nexus. I would say I've come across 10-15 other people across various forums who have the exact same problem after installing Dawnguard.

Anyway, it has already been confirmed that starting a new game -- even with mods -- will fix the issue. And it has been confirmed that reverting to a save created before Dawnguard was installed also fixes the issue.

I've already tried unticking all other data files (because yes, I am using mods, mostly texture mods) and loading up a post-Dawnguard save -- problem still there. But starting a new game, or loading a save from before DG, works.

So the bottom line is, there seems to be some interaction between Dawnguard and a modded game such that sometimes this bug pops up. And once it's there, there's no way to get rid of it short of starting a new game or reverting to an earlier save. Problem is, I've already put some 10 hours into Skyrim since installing DG, and have no desire to go back and replay all of that progress.

That leaves my options being 1) just deal with being stuck in 3rd-person for the rest of the game, or 2) find some way to fix it. And it seemed to me that, logically at least, my idea made sense. How practical it is to implement -- I have no idea. :) That's what I was hoping to get some help with here.
User avatar
SEXY QUEEN
 
Posts: 3417
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 7:54 pm

Post » Sun Nov 18, 2012 2:08 pm

Have you ever used any mods that affect the camera(or any ini tweaks) or skeletons? Not the undead kind, the ones that animate you lol. There could be loose files left somewhere in your data folder, though I have no idea where they would be if they are there. You could also try regenerating your .ini files and verifying the game cache(be warned if youve repacked your Skyrim BSAs Steam will delete and redownload them). But Im sure thats probably stuff thats already been tried.

As a total shot in the dark you could try actually using a mod that messes with camera adjustment, in the hopes that it kicks aside whatever bug you have. Like http://skyrim.nexusmods.com/mods/22182/ (theres vanilla files as well)

I dont really have anything to contribute to the scripting though, Im pretty ignorant when it comes to that part of the CK.
User avatar
sunny lovett
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 4:59 am

Post » Sun Nov 18, 2012 1:58 pm

I haven't used any camera mods, no, nor anything related to skeletons. But as you suggest, it might be worth trying that camera mod -- I'll look into that.

I should also note that EnablePlayerControls / DisablePlayerControls (where the third number in the input string should affect player POV) has no effect whatsoever.

I haven't yet tried regen'ing the ini files nor verifying game cache, so I suppose those are both worth trying too. Thanks for the suggestions!

Anybody know if there's a way to get a real-time list, maybe through the console, of what scripts are currently running? Maybe then I could at least track down the offending script (the one that regularly kicks 1st-person view into 3rd-person).
User avatar
sally coker
 
Posts: 3349
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 7:51 pm

Post » Sun Nov 18, 2012 12:31 am

This evening I tried all the suggestions gathered so far:

- deleting Skyrim.ini and SkyrimPrefs.ini and letting the game re-create them
- verifying game cache via Steam
- trying the camera mod that replaces skeleton.nif

And none of them has any effect on any of my post-Dawnguard save games -- I still get bumped into 1st-person view within a second of going into it.

I also played around some more with Enable/DisablePlayerControls thru the console. I have to say I'm really confused about the way this works. First of all, no matter what I give as inputs, I cannot ever turn the 3rd parameter (POV Change) from Enabled to Disabled (the current values can be output by typing 'GetPlayerControlsDisabled'). Just about all the other parameters can be toggled from 0 to 1 and back again, but not this one.

The 8th and 9th parameters, though, PlayerControls::bDisablePOVChange[Script] and PlayerControls::bDisablePOVChange[Werewolf], respectively -- those I can turn on and off. I can set them to both 0, both 1, or one 0 and the other 1. However -- all combinations of these parameters eventually push me back into 3rd person (I'm starting from 1st-person and then quickly opening the console). Additionally, if I set both parameters to [either 0 or 1, I can't remember now, d'oh!], I will then be stuck in 3rd-person and not allowed to ever enter 1st-person, even for a split second.

If I load up a pre-Dawnguard save, go to 1st-person view and then open the console and set both of those parameters to the same number as I did before (either 0 or 1, can't remember which) , I will now be stuck in 1st-person view and unable to enter 3rd-person view.

What this tells me is, my post-Dawnguard save, when I set both of those parameters to the same number, SHOULD be forcing me to stay in 1st-person mode but is instead doing the opposite -- forcing me into 3rd-person.

I'm not sure I'm really any further along here than when I started, other than to have confirmed, via a slightly different route, that for whatever reason, Skyrim really doesn't want me to be in 1st-person mode. :(
User avatar
Quick Draw
 
Posts: 3423
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 4:56 am

Post » Sun Nov 18, 2012 10:54 am

You have the relevant detail in your post.
  • New Game - Everything works fine
  • Loading game saved AFTER Dawnguard played - Bugged

So it is 99.9% certain that the issue is save-game-compatibility.

Something in your save is not playing nicely ... Was there a patch to DG after you made that save??

Whether or not there was a DG patch, something in your saved game (either from DG itself, or from a mod you are using) is conflicting with camera commands/views ... and that something is saved in your saved-game file (this happens quite a lot, with many mods).

From all that you have written, so far, it appears you will never fix that saved-game :(
User avatar
Veronica Flores
 
Posts: 3308
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 5:26 pm

Post » Sun Nov 18, 2012 6:48 am

And it's not just a single savegame that is corrupted -- it is every single one that I've made since installing Dawnguard. :(

There has not been a DG patch yet, BTW.

I was hoping that something like WryeBash could help determine what was wrong in my savegame, but when I loaded up the file, it didn't seem to show any particular problems...there's a good chance that I don't really know what to look for anyway though.
User avatar
lacy lake
 
Posts: 3450
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 12:13 am

Post » Sun Nov 18, 2012 4:00 am


http://www.gamesas.com/user/794408-gregp/ can you maybe post your savegame? I might be able to help you on this case.
User avatar
Emily abigail Villarreal
 
Posts: 3433
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 9:38 am

Post » Sun Nov 18, 2012 12:37 pm


http://www.gamesas.com/user/794408-gregp/ can you maybe post your savegame? I might be able to help you on this case.

Definitely -- will do so as soon as I get home tonight. Thanks!
User avatar
Lily
 
Posts: 3357
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 10:32 am

Post » Sun Nov 18, 2012 12:41 pm

OK, my latest savegame is here (sorry, code tags are the only way I can paste links):

https://www.dropbox.com/s/42d333rlsms7hyg/Save%2081%20-%20Mr.%20Puggles%20%20Volkihar%20Keep%20%2051.04.38.ess.zip
User avatar
NAtIVe GOddess
 
Posts: 3348
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 6:46 am

Post » Sun Nov 18, 2012 2:19 am

I will do some digging on this.
User avatar
Chris Guerin
 
Posts: 3395
Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 2:44 pm

Post » Sun Nov 18, 2012 1:49 am

Update: i found the script that is causing it, it is the DLC1PlayerVampireChangeScript, it seems to be stuck on a duplicate, if you know about hex editing you can easily fix it, look inside your savegame with a hex editor and search for "dlc1playervampirechangescript", now you just need to change one letter of this text to i.e: "dlc2playervampirechangescript" and after you load your game, your savegame is fixed again.
User avatar
victoria johnstone
 
Posts: 3424
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 9:56 am

Post » Sun Nov 18, 2012 8:14 am

My god, DarkenDE .... if this works, I'm going to be incredibly ecstatic! Will try as soon as I get home tonight. Thanks!!!!
User avatar
Ludivine Poussineau
 
Posts: 3353
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 2:49 pm

Post » Sun Nov 18, 2012 10:41 am

OH MY GOD IT WORKS. DarkenDE, THANK YOU, man! I simply cannot believe it! I had resigned myself to being forced to just deal with it for the rest of my Skyrim days and was pretty bummed about it. Thank you, thank you, thank you!
User avatar
Kira! :)))
 
Posts: 3496
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 1:07 pm

Post » Sun Nov 18, 2012 8:17 am

Thank you DarkenDE. You fix my savegame too. :banana:

STEPS (from bumbousdude25@nexusmod):

1) Get a hex editor. I recommend XVI32.

2) Open up your "problem" Skyrim save in the hex editor.

3) Search for text string "dlc1playervampirechangescript".

4) Change the "1" in that text to a "2".

5) Save the file.

6) Enjoy Dawnguard in first person.
User avatar
Rude_Bitch_420
 
Posts: 3429
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 2:26 pm

Post » Sun Nov 18, 2012 12:19 pm

Glad that i could help with this :-)
User avatar
T. tacks Rims
 
Posts: 3447
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 10:35 am

Post » Sun Nov 18, 2012 2:45 am

OMG! DarkenDE! That worked!

An to be blunt.You have only 13 post and gave a simple and easy to understand and accomplish post! I spent 45 minutes reading from complete jerks with 450 post and gave no information what so ever on this subject yet they posted! An they posted NOTHING!

I mean garbage like here --> http://www.gamesas.com/topic/1400758-dawnguard-pc-version-bug-list/page__st__90__p__21340841#entry21340841

Completely USELESS information! THANK YOU! I hope the administators do something about these people who post nothing on every page. Like Curate in that post.Do you know what BSA is? No?

Well thats because you have to completely look it up and waste time trying to figure out what it is and how to use it which this guy does NOT tell you how or what it is doing.That is frustrating!

So thank you thanks again!
User avatar
Trevor Bostwick
 
Posts: 3393
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 10:51 am


Return to V - Skyrim