How to find the coordinates of an exterior cell

Post » Wed Jun 20, 2012 4:54 pm

Is there a way to identify the exterior cell that my character is standing in from the console? I have picked out a place to build a fort for a mod but I need to know how to find that exterior cell in CK.
User avatar
Lily Something
 
Posts: 3327
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2006 12:21 pm

Post » Wed Jun 20, 2012 6:24 pm

I do it the opposite way. I find a place in the CK, then use cow (CenterOnWorld) in the console. It requires a little more work but I don't know if there even is a way to determine what wilderness cell you're in from the console.
User avatar
Madeleine Rose Walsh
 
Posts: 3425
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 2:07 am

Post » Wed Jun 20, 2012 11:04 pm

Drop some object in the vicinity you think it is in the ck, and see if that object is there in game.
User avatar
Jhenna lee Lizama
 
Posts: 3344
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 5:39 am

Post » Wed Jun 20, 2012 10:51 am

The way i did it was to find the spot in-game you wanted (which you did), then in the CK load the nearest named cell. So if you want your mod to be fairly close to Riverwood, you'd load Riverwood and scroll/drag the renderWindow until you see the area you want. Dungeons, mines, caves... they all have named cells (usually), so just do a quick walk-around the area if you haven't gotten a landmark already.

Once found, you may want to consider uniquely naming that cell so you can find it easier in the future (if it's a wilderness cell that is... don't change anything already named!). I put "aa" in front of the cell's name so it sits at the top of the list without searching for it. The only one's who that would annoy are those who load YOUR mod in the CK (which theoretically shouldn't be anyone).
User avatar
yessenia hermosillo
 
Posts: 3545
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 1:31 pm

Post » Wed Jun 20, 2012 10:57 pm

Fire up console in game. Type:

GetPos z
GetPos y
GetPos x

Profit.

To find the coordinates in the ck, simply enter x and y coordinates in the cell window, where it say x and y.
User avatar
I love YOu
 
Posts: 3505
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 12:05 pm

Post » Wed Jun 20, 2012 11:30 pm

Fire up console in game. Type:

GetPos z
GetPos y
GetPos x

Profit.

To find the coordinates in the ck, simply enter x and y coordinates in the cell window, where it say x and y.
Doesnt work that way.

GetPos gets the game unis whereas the CK X and Y are referring to cell coordinates.


http://www.gamesas.com/user/764276-sluckyd/ said the easiest way.
User avatar
Laura Wilson
 
Posts: 3445
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 3:57 pm

Post » Wed Jun 20, 2012 8:27 pm

What I ended up doing was using the console command cow tamriel x y , beginning with two random coordinates, then eyeballed the map, adjusted the coordinates and tried again, until I had been teleported to the location I had picked out. It only took a couple of minutes. Thanks for the help, everyone.
User avatar
Jon O
 
Posts: 3270
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 9:48 pm

Post » Wed Jun 20, 2012 5:08 pm

Doesnt work that way.
Yes it does. Just divide your x and y world co-ordinates by 4096 (a cell is 4096x4096 units) to get you cell co-ordinates. You'll be very close.

The best way however is to click on a tree or a rock in-game that sits exactly where you want to build, with the console open, and write down the Reference ID. Then run the CK with Skyrim loaded and open "Edit -> Find Text" from the menu's. Type your Reference ID into the "Search Text" field and click "Find text". Select the "Objects" tab and double click the single entry. Your desired cell will load in the render window with your chosen reference selected.
User avatar
Celestine Stardust
 
Posts: 3390
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 11:22 pm

Post » Wed Jun 20, 2012 6:45 pm

Doesnt work that way.

GetPos gets the game unis whereas the CK X and Y are referring to cell coordinates.

cellx = Math.floor( coordx/4096 )
User avatar
Glu Glu
 
Posts: 3352
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2007 5:39 am

Post » Wed Jun 20, 2012 9:50 pm

I used the steps below but cannot guarantee the result you will get so good luck and ...

Try this:
  • Run game and take character to spot you want
  • Enter console
  • Click on a nearby object (For me it was a handy bench though this was internal!)
  • Make a note of the item ID
  • Close game
  • Run CK
  • Menu Bar>File>Data>Skyrim.esm + .esp (s)
  • Menu Bar>Edit>Find Text
  • Enter the object ID ref you noted in 'Search Text' (you may have to drop quotation marks and or brackets!)
  • Look in the five tabs listed and your object should be under objects
  • Read the details of the object to find the cell
I hope this helps or at least get you somewhere near!
User avatar
jess hughes
 
Posts: 3382
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2006 8:10 pm

Post » Thu Jun 21, 2012 1:19 am

Excellent, thanks...took me right to the spot!
User avatar
Dean
 
Posts: 3438
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 4:58 pm

Post » Wed Jun 20, 2012 5:39 pm

What I do is grab the FormID of a rock or some other object not likely to be persistent, then search Skyrim.ESM for the FormID with FO3Edit. From there you can note the block number or see it in the description of the record.

[REFR:0002DD8A] (places RockCliff01 [STAT:0001CF9F] in GRUP Cell Temporary Children of [CELL:000096E3] (in Tamriel "? " [WRLD:0000003C] at 21,-10))
User avatar
Mario Alcantar
 
Posts: 3416
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 8:26 am

Post » Wed Jun 20, 2012 7:29 pm

Hi bellondroneous. I don't mean to hijack your thread but I was wondering. If I create a new room, I can just plop it in the XY grid and when I go to the game it will be there?
Does that mean I can take an existing cottage and remodel it?
I'm just learning to play with the CK.
User avatar
Hope Greenhaw
 
Posts: 3368
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 8:44 pm

Post » Wed Jun 20, 2012 7:09 pm

If it's in an exterior, it's likely you'd be dropping stuff into a pre-existing cell (Worldspace group). If it's a new interioir, it'll be off the grid and stored as a new cell (Cell group).
User avatar
Brandi Norton
 
Posts: 3334
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 9:24 pm

Post » Wed Jun 20, 2012 10:07 pm

I found a really good tutorial on how to create a house and place it in the world.
http://tesalliance.org/forums/index.php?/topic/4655-introduction-creation-kit-basics/
User avatar
Georgine Lee
 
Posts: 3353
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 11:50 am


Return to V - Skyrim