Quest scripts

Post » Wed Jun 20, 2012 6:59 am

Hi.

When I create a quest and add a script to it like this:

GetOwningQuest().SetObjectiveDisplayed(10)GetOwningQuest().SetStage(10)

CK creates a new script with a random name (something like "TIF_0100B1171" -whatever)

Am I correct to assume that this new script works just like any other script that I created? Meaning I will have to add the script manually to my mod's .rar file. -It doesn't magically save with the .esp?
If I am correct I would much rather create my own script with my own name, so that it's easier to see that this script is related to my mod.
User avatar
Isabella X
 
Posts: 3373
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 3:44 am

Post » Wed Jun 20, 2012 5:54 am

The fragment scripts are autogenerated, and need to be as the CK links the fragment event to a named function in the script. That's something you wouldn't be able to do manually.

What you can do though, is go to the CK Papyrus Options. There's a box there where you can supply up to 4 characters that will be prefixed to those scripts.
User avatar
Justin Hankins
 
Posts: 3348
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 12:36 pm

Post » Wed Jun 20, 2012 2:22 am

So they don't save into the .esp either?


I have a book (letter), which is an alias in my quest, I tried to attach this script to it:

Scriptname HT_PoisonQuestCheck extends ReferenceAlias{A script that starts the search for trap poison quest when the letter is read.}event OnRead()  GetOwningQuest().SetObjectiveDisplayed(10)  GetOwningQuest().SetStage(10)  Debug.Notification("Letter read!")endevent

But the script doesn't run when I read the letter.


EDIT #2: After fiddling around with saving and loading the mod and the characters for a while the script does run. The debug message finally showed up.
But the quest still isn't updated properly. Maybe I need to disable the mod, save the char, enable the mod, load the char and see if it works?


EDIT:
"What you can do though, is go to the CK Papyrus Options. There's a box there where you can supply up to 4 characters that will be prefixed to those scripts."
-Where do I find the Papyrus Options?
User avatar
Jennifer May
 
Posts: 3376
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 3:51 pm

Post » Wed Jun 20, 2012 1:40 pm

That's right, esp's don't contain any Papyrus. You pretty much have to keep a manifest of all files that belong to a mod, and not rely on them being automatically packed into the BSA.

I don't see a problem with the script. You're sure the alias if filled?
Event OnContainerChanged(ObjectReference akNewContainer, ObjectReference akOldContainer)  Debug.Notification("OnContainerChanged Event")EndEvent

If that event runs then it'll show if the alias is working, and then maybe it's something to do with the Read.
User avatar
Dj Matty P
 
Posts: 3398
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 12:31 am

Post » Wed Jun 20, 2012 5:20 am

What you can do though, is go to the CK Papyrus Options. There's a box there where you can supply up to 4 characters that will be prefixed to those scripts.

Where do I find the options?


That's right, esp's don't contain any Papyrus. You pretty much have to keep a manifest of all files that belong to a mod, and not rely on them being automatically packed into the BSA.

What BSA?
User avatar
Benji
 
Posts: 3447
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 11:58 pm

Post » Wed Jun 20, 2012 9:55 am

The BSA is the http://www.creationkit.com/File_Menu#Create_Archive the CK will create for you to hold all your scripts, textures, meshes etc.

From the main menu. File->Preferences->Scripts
User avatar
Mark Churchman
 
Posts: 3363
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 5:58 am

Post » Wed Jun 20, 2012 1:33 pm

Ok, found it.
Thank you.

Let's see if I can get this to work now..
User avatar
steve brewin
 
Posts: 3411
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 7:17 am

Post » Wed Jun 20, 2012 2:08 pm

I've got a new question. It's related to questing so I prefer bumping this thread over creating a new one.

I got my quest working, now I need to fine-tune it. There are still a bunch of flaws. My first issue is this:
-I created the quest.
-The player got the quest in his journal.
-The player completed the first objective ("find actor")
-The player recieves a new objective ("take back stolen object")
-The problem that occurs now is that both objectives are in the journal as "under progress". -I want to mark the "find actor" objective as completed within the quest. How do I do that?


Thanks.
User avatar
Leticia Hernandez
 
Posts: 3426
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 9:46 am

Post » Wed Jun 20, 2012 7:19 am

You mark is as completed viahttp://www.creationkit.com/SetObjectiveCompleted_-_Quest.
User avatar
jessica breen
 
Posts: 3524
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 1:04 am

Post » Wed Jun 20, 2012 6:32 am

You mark is as completed viahttp://www.creationkit.com/SetObjectiveCompleted_-_Quest.

Thank you, that was exactly what I was looking for. =)
Somehow the tutorial I was watching had forgot to mention that part.
User avatar
Manny(BAKE)
 
Posts: 3407
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:14 am


Return to V - Skyrim