Ability to reset quests or main quest

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2016 8:56 pm

Dying Light has a cool function where you can reset your progress in the game to any point in the main quest but you keep your level and loot and all inventory. All side quests also reset so you can go through it all again. Could be an interesting addon for Fallout 4 and lets you keep leveling with more interesting quests.



People want things to do at the end of the main quest and it's mostly a bunch of radiants so why not reset side quests atleast
User avatar
Tom
 
Posts: 3463
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 7:39 pm

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2016 8:07 pm

Or, why not just restart a new character? Think of all the hundreds more hours of gameplay using the benefit of hindsight, one thing I think would be useful is the ability to reset your skill tree, that way you could change your gameplay mid game.

User avatar
Sophie Miller
 
Posts: 3299
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 12:35 am

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2016 3:07 pm


Sometimes people don't want to restart the whole game and just play one quest. I see no problem with that. Restarting the game will force you to spend hours to get to the point you wanted to at a decent enough level and with the supplies you want.

User avatar
Emily Jones
 
Posts: 3425
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 3:33 pm

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2016 9:57 pm

Such a feature would be awesome , not only to repeat quests but also may help people who accidentally killed key characters or got a bug in certain quests .


To add to this feature , the ability to delete bugged quests also could help.

User avatar
Da Missz
 
Posts: 3437
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 4:42 pm

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2016 4:43 pm

The problem with this idea is this.



How many persistent NPC's , dialogue, items, scripts and objects does Dying Light actually have?



All those would need to be reset for a quest to be reset. I don't even think I've seen a mod for any of Bethesda's games that did this due to the fact that resetting a quest is just going to cause a multitude of problems if one or more things don't reset properly. The scripts being the biggy.

User avatar
Emzy Baby!
 
Posts: 3416
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 5:02 pm

Post » Thu Mar 31, 2016 4:18 am

I might work if it was a full New Game+ type thing, putting a leveled character into a vanilla world state.

User avatar
Juanita Hernandez
 
Posts: 3269
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 10:36 am

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2016 1:56 pm

I've been doing this already. Of my 4 characters, the last 3 have left V111 at level 35. It seems a bit more challenging in the early part of the game until you can find/make better gear. You also get quite a lot of legendary enemies because of your level, which can make early battles quite a bit more challenging. I will never start at lev 1 again.

User avatar
danni Marchant
 
Posts: 3420
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 2:32 am

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2016 2:36 pm

Not sure I'd like if it was like that, imo New Game+ should allow you to keep your collected stuff too. Walk out of 111 in MkVI X01 with a Thunder Hammer Shocking Super Sledge in your hands.

User avatar
Taylor Tifany
 
Posts: 3555
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 7:22 am

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2016 9:01 pm

Reset quest completion would be great, especially when it's so buggy.


Inb4 reset is also bugged
User avatar
Dalley hussain
 
Posts: 3480
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 2:45 am

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2016 1:58 pm

I wonder if someone could make this a mod. Looks like there is a NG+ for NV on the Nexus.

User avatar
ijohnnny
 
Posts: 3412
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 12:15 am

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2016 3:27 pm

TC, what you are basically describing is a new game plus, and is an idea that is not fully original, and actual get's mentioned at least three times every cycle since Oblivion.


Personally...No if I'm going to do it all over, I'm goin to DO IT ALL OVER, from level one onward. Earn my scars again, and enjoy the journey.

User avatar
bonita mathews
 
Posts: 3405
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 5:04 am

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2016 3:55 pm

Reset / play again all the quests, just means youre staring the game again. MQ lines cannot be reset / play again without problems and/or alot of work, because quests depends on other quests and they have to be reset as well. I would not use such mod, one bug / script error and whole game could be messy. In Tes, I usual start the game again from scratch if there are some mods / official patches or something that fix things or I did not like the progress. FO 4 I will never ever start the game again and/or redo any quests - bugged or not because I spend way to much time to gather items and make settlements. I would not do all the MM quests again or gather all the companions / named hireable traders. I have the junkyard dogs in 10 of the settlements and it was a pain just to get the first dog. Alot depends on luck and random stuffs in FO 4.



Beside, at high level som quests too easy to be rerun. If this was a case where you could rerun quests, npc have to level up with player. The best way to do all the quests available, inclusive MQ lines. Do less MQ as possible, do MM, join RR and BoS and then do a special savegame where you have the options to continue different ways. There is a point where you can be friends with all factions at the same time, but next MQ lines do tell what faction to follow and what faction have to die.


Cheers,


-Klevs

User avatar
hannaH
 
Posts: 3513
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 4:50 am

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2016 6:02 pm

I personally do not like the idea of resetting quests or NP+ modes in Open World games. To me it takes away from the Open World experience. That feature does not work for me in W3. It does work for me in the Diablo games.

User avatar
Spaceman
 
Posts: 3429
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 10:09 am

Post » Thu Mar 31, 2016 3:29 am

Probably be easier to make a list of everything you have, start a regular new game and then just console command every item on your list to the new SS that you made to look exactly the same as the old one and gave them the same name.

User avatar
Dan Stevens
 
Posts: 3428
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 5:00 pm

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2016 3:52 pm

See what Bethesda could do is take a feature from Borderlands which allows us to transfer weapons or armor using a locker but it's only tied to our Gamertag that way we could send cool weapons we don't want, including armor, so we could make a new toon and already have presents from our alternate universe playable character. :)

User avatar
Peter lopez
 
Posts: 3383
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 5:55 pm

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2016 11:05 pm

That would be so useful for Legendaries. I found a Relentless Deathclaw Gauntlet, a Wounding Machete and a Staggering Super Sledge...on a character who doesn't use melee

User avatar
Jonathan Braz
 
Posts: 3459
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 10:29 pm

Post » Thu Mar 31, 2016 3:43 am



And then after more hours, still come across the same bugs? Tried a new game/character 3 times now and you still get quest stopping bugs.


I'm sticking with my 700hrs, level 110 this time. The software bugs are just as challenging as the bugs in the game.
User avatar
Riky Carrasco
 
Posts: 3428
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 12:17 am

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2016 12:15 pm

because that wouldnt be immersion breaking or anything...

User avatar
Kristian Perez
 
Posts: 3365
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 3:03 am

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2016 12:44 pm

I like the sound of this actually, and considering my character was ex-military it makes sense he would have training.

User avatar
Wane Peters
 
Posts: 3359
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 9:34 pm

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2016 5:54 pm

I've always liked that option. .. I mess up builds a lot.. Other times it's just fun to experiment. It would be a pretty cheap exploit in Fallout though. I mean, you could easily use it to give yourself crafting perks only when you wanted to craft something and then revert the perks back to a more combat oriented build afterwards. It'd be an exploit but still, exploits are fun sometimes.

User avatar
Benjamin Holz
 
Posts: 3408
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 9:34 pm

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2016 8:44 pm

I don't see why they care about exploits when one version of the game basically has an in-built cheat menu.

User avatar
Nice one
 
Posts: 3473
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 5:30 am

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2016 11:53 pm


That is not a cheat menu. Yes you can use it to exploit the game but it is designed to troubleshoot the game for the developers and mod makers use it as well for the same thing.



Also using the console could cause problems for the game, especially if you do not know what the commands are and how to use them.

User avatar
Margarita Diaz
 
Posts: 3510
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 2:01 pm

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2016 6:00 pm

doesn't really matter what it's design is, the fact the console commands allows you to change prefixes on items, spawn weapons or ammo up to the 10,000s of thousands per and what not it technically an inbuilt cheat system. Even if it's used for mods or fixing quests, it's still a cheat command. The PC gamers just don't want to admit this because by doing so they would have to concede to the fact that console gamers are right. If the console commands never allowed you to spawn items / weapons in or change prefixes on items than PC gamers would have a point.



Console Commands = Gameshark or Game Genie back in the day for PS1/PS2. The only difference is, one is build into the game and the other is an application that needs to started first before booting up the game.

User avatar
phillip crookes
 
Posts: 3418
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 1:39 pm

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2016 12:47 pm

Ya. A debug menu IS a cheat menu, it's a list of cheat commands used to debug the game.

User avatar
Sam Parker
 
Posts: 3358
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 3:10 am

Post » Thu Mar 31, 2016 2:40 am

And lets be honest here: all those videos you see on youtube and such showing off weapons or other things ALWAYS use console commands for cheats. Even if it's design was never intended to be used like that the fact PC gamers just use it for those purposes gives off that image to everyone else. Debugging is a cheat mode. It's been around in games since 1990's with the infamous "Up Down Left Right A B" thing on genesis.

User avatar
no_excuse
 
Posts: 3379
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2006 3:56 am

Next

Return to Fallout 4