New Game startup scripts?

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 4:22 am

Just so we're all clear ... Here is my temporary Game Start

As written above, edit the log entries so that was is 0 is 7 and what is 4 is 0

Click on Scripts Tab, select the QF_MQ101 ... script and select properties.
Add an ObjectReference Alias (MarkarthStartMarker is mine) ... you may want to use another marker, or make your own ... I'm not getting into that


Now, in the script when the 0 value is selected (was 4 but you changed it) add the following script:

; enable saves
Game.SetInChargen(false, false, false)

;place player at marker location
Game.GetPlayer().moveto(MarkarthStartMarker)

; remove all player's gear and reequip outfit
Game.GetPlayer().RemoveAllItems()
; equip player's prisoner outfit
Game.GetPlayer().EquipItem(ClothesPrisoner)
Game.GetPlayer().EquipItem(ClothesPrisonerShoes)

; pop message box to choose sides - REMOVED

setstage(900)


Game.DisablePlayerControls()
utility.Wait(1)
; pop race menu
game.ShowRaceMenu()
utility.Wait(1)

;enable first person geometry
Game.ShowFirstPersonGeometry( True )
Game.GetPlayer().RemoveItem(PrisonerCuffsPlayer, aiCount = 99, absilent = true)
Game.GetPlayer().SetRestrained(false)

; player can move and fight and use inventory
Game.EnablePlayerControls()



Note that after choosing Race and so on, the player starts with his hands as though they are tied. They are not, and using the R key (twice) will put them in the normal position
User avatar
Heather Stewart
 
Posts: 3525
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 11:04 pm

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 6:05 am

Thank you, will try this :)
User avatar
Melis Hristina
 
Posts: 3509
Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2006 10:36 pm

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 12:48 pm

Here's what I have so far:

Utility.Wait(0.1); imagespace modifierGame.FadeOutGame(False, true, 28.0, 30.0)Game.ShowTitleSequenceMenu()IntroMusic.Add(); enable savesGame.SetInChargen(false, false, false);place player at marker locationGame.GetPlayer().moveto(Alias_PlayerStartMarker.GetRef()); remove all player's gear and reequip outfitGame.GetPlayer().RemoveAllItems(); equip player's prisoner outfitGame.GetPlayer().EquipItem(ClothesPrisoner, abSilent = true)Game.GetPlayer().EquipItem(ClothesPrisonerShoes, abSilent = true)Game.GetPlayer().EquipItem(PrisonerCuffsPlayer, abSilent = true)Game.DisablePlayerControls(abMovement =true, abFighting = true, abCamSwitch = true, abLooking = false, abSneaking = true, abMenu = true, abJournalTabs= true)utility.Wait(1.0); pop race menugame.ShowRaceMenu()utility.Wait(1.0);enable first person geometryGame.ShowFirstPersonGeometry( True )Game.GetPlayer().RemoveItem(PrisonerCuffsPlayer, aiCount = 99, absilent = true); player can move and fight and use inventoryGame.EnablePlayerControls()

This is located in a brand new quest on stage 10. On stage 0 I set game hour to 7 and set stage to 10.
in a custom mod ini i have chargenquest set to the id of the custom quest. so far nothing runs. remove the ini and goes straight into MQ101.
User avatar
Chase McAbee
 
Posts: 3315
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 5:59 am

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 6:18 am

Not sure still why its not loading this quest for. :(
any ideas guys?
User avatar
Devils Cheek
 
Posts: 3561
Joined: Sun Aug 13, 2006 10:24 pm

Post » Mon Jun 18, 2012 9:32 pm

Anyone at all?
User avatar
Vicki Blondie
 
Posts: 3408
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 5:33 am

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 10:44 am

From what I've read around and read here MQ101 is THE ONLY start quest MQ101 is hard coded to be the start of the game so the only thing you can do is edit that quest to suit your needs.

@http://www.gamesas.com/user/777158-h4vent/ I have come across and Issue. I followed exactly what you did and copied your code right in. The game starts properly....skipping the whole helgen sequence and allows me to make my character. However after that is does not re-activate player controls. I can move and jump but do nothing else.
User avatar
Dragonz Dancer
 
Posts: 3441
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 11:01 am

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:41 am

if it was hardcoded then adding that ini setting wouldn't prevent MQ101 from running.
User avatar
Your Mum
 
Posts: 3434
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 6:23 pm

Post » Mon Jun 18, 2012 10:03 pm

There is a function that enables / disables player controls, i read it in the scripts attached to mq101
User avatar
Arrogant SId
 
Posts: 3366
Joined: Sat May 19, 2007 11:39 am

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 3:04 am

Grrr, my script doesn't even allow the game to load when in MQ101 :(
User avatar
Pawel Platek
 
Posts: 3489
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 2:08 pm

Post » Mon Jun 18, 2012 9:52 pm

Linera, have you tried going into MQ101, going to quest stages, stage 0, adding a log entry and that when the MQQuickStart global is set to say 5.00, it runs a papyrus fragment to set the quest stage to 1000, and then starts your quest?
User avatar
Sami Blackburn
 
Posts: 3306
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 7:56 am

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 12:53 am

I tried placing my fragment script into MQ101, it prevented New Game from starting.
User avatar
Amie Mccubbing
 
Posts: 3497
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 11:33 pm

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 1:21 am

MQ101 is VERY complicated. I posted the best way to edit it ... because if you edit later stages you have a lot of clean-up to handle. If you want to STOP MQ101 and start another Quest at game start, then you can ... but note that Helgen will not get destroyed, dragons will not spawn in game and you won't be the Dragonborn (unless you find a way for the player to start the MQ101 quest, further along in it's cycle).

The easiest way to accomplish what you want is to do the edits I posted earlier in the topic. That gets you out of Helgen and completing the Race Forms. You can then SetStage for your "new" starting quest (you don't need race forms, as that has been done) and you're away.

To Disable MQ101 Completely (almost)
In it's Scene List find "Scene 1" and uncheck it's "Begin on Quest Start" Flag (top center of form)
The Stage-0 will run, but the Quest will not progress beyond that, because nothing tells Scene-1 to play


However, like I wrote above, the better way is to edit MQ101 Stage-0 and complete the entire quest in just a few lines.


I guess it depends whether you want the horse and cart scene - and Dragons, Helgen destroyed and so on? Eventually I will tailor MQ101 to include the cart ride, the execution and the Dragon Attack ... but I will create a way for the PC to escape without needing to enter the keep. I will then, in the background, allow the entire Quest to finish and clean itself up. I will be left with no active quests, but I will make ways for the PC to start either of those Quests as if they had played MQ101 right through.

To do the above I will edit script stages that occur well after Stage-0 and Stage-10. But it is complicated and not something I would try to do as my first modding-project (this isn't :wink:)


To be clear: If you follow EXACTLY what I posted at the bottom of Page-1 of this topic, you will get what you want. Or at least what you think you want.
User avatar
Trevor Bostwick
 
Posts: 3393
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 10:51 am

Post » Mon Jun 18, 2012 10:30 pm

Basically, I'm gonna have a whole new quest to start the game in a new world. you won't even see Skyrim at all.
User avatar
Laura Wilson
 
Posts: 3445
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 3:57 pm

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 1:37 am


@http://www.gamesas.com/user/777158-h4vent/ I have come across and Issue. I followed exactly what you did and copied your code right in. The game starts properly....skipping the whole helgen sequence and allows me to make my character. However after that is does not re-activate player controls. I can move and jump but do nothing else.

Check you included it all - line by line - It does work.

To be clear this one: http://www.gamesas.com/topic/1350830-new-game-startup-scripts/page__view__findpost__p__20368162


The only slight bug is that if you make ANY changes in the raceform, when it shows, your character appears to still have hands tied. It hasn't, simply pressing R twice (equip weapon, and if you have no, go into Boxer Stance) will sort that out. after that, you can do whatever you want


Note: I only have what I have temporarily. It is a long, long way from perfect, but it does work (while I'm modding all the other stuff I want to change)


Post again if you are still struggling and I will try to help out.
User avatar
Gisela Amaya
 
Posts: 3424
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 4:29 pm

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 1:59 am

Basically, I'm gonna have a whole new quest to start the game in a new world. you won't even see Skyrim at all.

Do the first bit of what I suggested, replaced MQQuickStart == 0 with ==7 and MQQuickStart == 4 with ==0

Now edit under the (new) ==0 in the Fragment Box.

If you are going to handle raceform and whatever else in your new quest then the only thing you need in the script-fragment is

Game.GetPlayer().moveto(MarkarthStartMarker) ... you MUST move the player, or the game will not start!
setstage(900) ... to complete the MQ101 quest
thenameofyourNEWquest.SetStage(0) ... where 0 is the first stage of your new quest.

Depending on what your New Start Quest is, and how it is going to work, you may also want to untie the player (and cloth him - or do this in your New Quest)

;enable first person geometry
Game.ShowFirstPersonGeometry( True )
Game.GetPlayer().RemoveItem(PrisonerCuffsPlayer, aiCount = 99, absilent = true)
Game.GetPlayer().SetRestrained(false)

; player can move and fight and use inventory
Game.EnablePlayerControls()


Let us know where and when you get stuck.
User avatar
RAww DInsaww
 
Posts: 3439
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 5:47 pm

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 3:08 am

Do the first bit of what I suggested, replaced MQQuickStart == 0 with ==7 and MQQuickStart == 4 with ==0

Now edit under the (new) ==0 in the Fragment Box.

If you are going to handle raceform and whatever else in your new quest then the only thing you need in the script-fragment is

Game.GetPlayer().moveto(MarkarthStartMarker) ... you MUST move the player, or the game will not start!
setstage(900) ... to complete the MQ101 quest
thenameofyourNEWquest.SetStage(0) ... where 0 is the first stage of your new quest.

Depending on what your New Start Quest is, and how it is going to work, you may also want to untie the player (and cloth him - or do this in your New Quest)

;enable first person geometry
Game.ShowFirstPersonGeometry( True )
Game.GetPlayer().RemoveItem(PrisonerCuffsPlayer, aiCount = 99, absilent = true)
Game.GetPlayer().SetRestrained(false)

; player can move and fight and use inventory
Game.EnablePlayerControls()


Let us know where and when you get stuck.

Raceform???
User avatar
SexyPimpAss
 
Posts: 3416
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 9:24 am

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 4:24 am

In my alt-start mod, as I mentioned before, MQ101 is the only way to fly.

Here's what I did to Stage 0:

GameHour.SetValue(9)Game.GetPlayer().RemoveAllItems()Game.GetPlayer().EquipItem(ClothesPrisoner, abSilent = true)Game.GetPlayer().EquipItem(ClothesPrisonerShoes, abSilent = true)Game.GetPlayer().MoveTo(NewStartMarker)NewStartQuest.Start()

If you're doing a total conversion, you can simply put that in for the only condition in Stage 0 as it's Papyrus fragment. Wipe out any other stages you don't need, which sounds like more or less the whole thing. Or replace them with appropriate stages for your own quest.

Following on from the last line of that code, NewStartQuest (my alt-start quest I take things over in) has the following in its first stage:
ChargenMusic.Add();pre-cache the chargen menuGame.PrecacheCharGen(); show race menugame.ShowRaceMenu()Utility.Wait(0.1)SetStage(10)

For your purposes though, something like this would simply go in whatever new stage for MQ101 you decide on. Note that the wait that follows the ShowRaceMenu command is there to prevent it from jumping to stage 10 while the menu is up.
User avatar
leni
 
Posts: 3461
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2007 3:58 pm

Post » Mon Jun 18, 2012 10:25 pm

Raceform???

If you want to do that in MQ101 then:

Game.DisablePlayerControls()
utility.Wait(1)
; pop race menu
game.ShowRaceMenu()
utility.Wait(1)

;enable first person geometry
Game.ShowFirstPersonGeometry( True )
Game.GetPlayer().RemoveItem(PrisonerCuffsPlayer, aiCount = 99, absilent = true)
Game.GetPlayer().SetRestrained(false)

; player can move and fight and use inventory
Game.EnablePlayerControls()



Or do it in your New Quest instead
User avatar
Gavin Roberts
 
Posts: 3335
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:14 pm

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:18 am

What is a raceform?
User avatar
Michael Russ
 
Posts: 3380
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 3:33 am

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:58 am

What is a raceform?

Sorry to confuse you, I just mean the

game.ShowRaceMenu()

Where you pick a race and it's looks
User avatar
Shaylee Shaw
 
Posts: 3457
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 8:55 pm

Previous

Return to V - Skyrim