Keybinding Issues #2 (Hotkeys, Favorites, NumPad, Drop Item,

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 12:13 pm

I have made an Auto Hotkey scripts that completely (well all except escape and the 1-8 keys) remaps the keyset to the numpad and surrounding keys.

Works without flaws as far as I can see. Except for the fact that after leaving Skyrim you manually have to shut down AHK or the arrow keys will keep their AHK binding. Anyone know how to solve this?

Copy the lines below (between the rows of *****) to an empty notepad file and save that as skyrim.ahk (watch that no .txt extension gets added).
Download AHK from here http://www.autohotkey.com/download/ (choose the basic installer)
Install.
Double click the skyrim.ahk file and start Skyrim

*****

#NoEnv
SendMode Input
SetWorkingDir %A_ScriptDir%

Numpad0::tab
Numpad1::e
Numpad2::r
Numpad3::t
Numpad4::a
Numpad5::s
Numpad6:: d (remove space and this text)
Numpad7::q
Numpad8::w
Numpad9::z
NumpadDot::f
NumpadDiv:: / (remove space and this text)
NumpadMult::j
NumpadAdd::m
NumpadSub:: p (remove space and this text)
NumpadEnter::i
Right::space
Down::ctrl
Up::capslock
NumLock::c

*****

Just make sure to reset your keybinds to default or it won't work.
User avatar
jenny goodwin
 
Posts: 3461
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 4:57 am

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 4:58 pm


Works without flaws as far as I can see. Except for the fact that after leaving Skyrim you manually have to shut down AHK or the arrow keys will keep their AHK binding. Anyone know how to solve this?

Add this before the rebinding section of your script:
#IfWinActive ahk_class Skyrim
That will mean that the rebindings only occur when Skyrim is active.
User avatar
Setal Vara
 
Posts: 3390
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 1:24 pm

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 10:17 am

I rebinded my left hand to space, cause I want jump on mouse2, but with this configuration I can't equip weapons in my left hand.
User avatar
Rachel Briere
 
Posts: 3438
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 9:09 am

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 9:18 am

This entire situation is ridiculous.
User avatar
Kirsty Wood
 
Posts: 3461
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 10:41 am

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 6:33 am

I just wonder when there'll actually be a response or acknowledgement of this whole situation. I never understand how issues like this make it through quality assurance ... this should at the very least been resolved in the day one patch. Find this negligence quite astounding really.
User avatar
Toby Green
 
Posts: 3365
Joined: Sun May 27, 2007 5:27 pm

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 12:02 pm

Crosspost from other new keybinding thread, although it seems the same issues have been adressed here.

Only skimmed the other thread so might have missed similar clarifications. I do agree that not being able to reassign to the numpad is very amateurish design. My problem is with the other main issue, that new rebinds do not consistently work when you try reading a book or interacting with objects.

My test: My goal is to put a sword in a barrel (sounds easy).

1. Default settings. Easy, mouseover sword, press the R key like indicated.

2.Custom settings, i remap the ready/sheathe from R to G. Still easy. Mouseover sword, press the R key like indicated, just as before.

3.Custom settings, like above, but also i remap the strafe right to R(typical setup for me), so that R is not only remapped away but it has a new remapped functionality as well. Now the submenu still indicates that you press R to store the sword, but that does not work. If you instead of placing in barrel wanted to drop in the real world, I find that the G key will actually work instead. But, no keypress works to store it while the barrel is open. Also, you cannot just click on Store with your mouse either.

So basically the game gets confused when remapping. Firstly, the sub-menus always indicate the use of default keybindings. Sometimes you have to actually use these defaults, sometimes you use the new bind instead(proper functionality imo, just as long as it updates the ui info text as well), and sometimes the game is conflicted and does not accept any button.
User avatar
Alkira rose Nankivell
 
Posts: 3417
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 10:56 pm

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 9:54 am

Still struggling to understand how this issue made it through QA for the PC version.
User avatar
R.I.p MOmmy
 
Posts: 3463
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 8:40 pm

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 5:28 pm

Ok, so the only dev or mod response to this issue so far has been "post limit" and that's it? Really?

Come on Bethesda...it's time to let us know what you plan on doing about this issue. Please.
User avatar
Kevin Jay
 
Posts: 3431
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 4:29 am

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 7:34 am

This is indeed a serious blunder on Bethesda's behalf. While we all know that occasionally work-arounds are neccessary to get certain fringe hardware to run, it should never be neccessary to come up with work arounds for something a simple and basic as remapping keys.
User avatar
Rex Help
 
Posts: 3380
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 6:52 pm

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 6:22 am

Wait.. So - the mods can ONLY be bothered to say is "Post limit"? Seriously? Like we aren't already angry enough? We wouldn't be so mad at you guys if you guys just gave us a PC game instead of a damn console port like every other developer keeps doing! What happened to the days of when games used to be their own games and not a port of something or another? Laziness everywhere, I swear..
And before someone says "You can't call them lazy until you try to make your own game" ('cause I know there's going to be "that guy") - I have tried. I know it's difficult. I know what goes into it. This is completely inexcusable, though. :I
User avatar
sas
 
Posts: 3435
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 8:40 am

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 10:27 am

I continue to try Autohotkey solutions, using each of the successful scripts reported in these threads, but the game doesn't respond. Each script translates keystrokes fine in other apps, but no response in Skyrim. Trials continue...
User avatar
Jerry Jr. Ortiz
 
Posts: 3457
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2007 12:39 pm

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 4:17 pm

sjvan0 and Morilibus, your bugs have been reproed here and summarily fixed. Basic run-down: remapping Toggle POV, Ready Weapon, and a few other events to mouse buttons was throwing things off. Also, Container menu wasn't properly listening for remapped events.

The fix will be rolled into the next Steam update. Sorry again for not catching this before release. Our remapping testing only goes as far as our creativity during development, which always falls short of how many different ways people conceive of bending their fingers. =P

Just so I and other devs don't constantly have to pop in to say it, keep posting any problems you're having. Soon, if not already, there will be a (very full, I'm sure) Skyrim Bugs sub-forum. We'll be watching, we'll be fixing, always fixing... Enjoy Skyrim!

You guys need to put away the game controllers and realize that most PC users don't use them. Maybe then you'd be able to find the UI bugs without the help of the shouting, angry masses.
User avatar
Elle H
 
Posts: 3407
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 3:15 am

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 6:39 am

sjvan0 and Morilibus, your bugs have been reproed here and summarily fixed. Basic run-down: remapping Toggle POV, Ready Weapon, and a few other events to mouse buttons was throwing things off. Also, Container menu wasn't properly listening for remapped events.

The fix will be rolled into the next Steam update. Sorry again for not catching this before release. Our remapping testing only goes as far as our creativity during development, which always falls short of how many different ways people conceive of bending their fingers. =P

Just so I and other devs don't constantly have to pop in to say it, keep posting any problems you're having. Soon, if not already, there will be a (very full, I'm sure) Skyrim Bugs sub-forum. We'll be watching, we'll be fixing, always fixing... Enjoy Skyrim!

A dev actually replied, in a different thread, about keymapping bugs. Just because they don't chime in everywhere doesn't mean they're not reading and/or responding. Patience...
User avatar
Hairul Hafis
 
Posts: 3516
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 12:22 am

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 9:49 am

This is the way of it, I'm afraid. We weighed the clarity of swapping out the button help with whatever the user had mapped versus the enormous amount of video memory required to load up every possible piece of button art every time you entered the Inventory, and speed/memory won out.


Why not just use text? Surely that would be better than intentionally creating a UI that misleads the player as to what keys do what. Honestly, I ran into this within 2 minutes of having the use of my arms (shackles removed). Either allow for keys to be remapped (without the misleading button help) or disallow key remapping. Don't ship a game that is known to have a broken UI.
User avatar
Project
 
Posts: 3490
Joined: Fri May 04, 2007 7:58 am

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 4:02 am

Correct. But they don't post as much as they watch us.


Yeah..this is the first topic I have actually seen one post! Not counting Gstaff on the 360 forum.
User avatar
Talitha Kukk
 
Posts: 3477
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 1:14 am

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 12:38 pm

A dev actually replied, in a different thread, about keymapping bugs. Just because they don't chime in everywhere doesn't mean they're not reading and/or responding. Patience...

Actually, from the same thread, the worrying part is:


This is the way of it, I'm afraid. We weighed the clarity of swapping out the button help with whatever the user had mapped versus the enormous amount of video memory required to load up every possible piece of button art every time you entered the Inventory, and speed/memory won out.


That is as planned. Basically, the fall-back logic for the user remapping their keys around is to try to match the new anologue. In the menu, 'F' is Favorites, but in-game, it's Toggle POV. So, the menu uses the Toggle POV key to favorite/unfavorite. Ideally, you'd be able to remap menu keys separate from gameplay keys, but just one of those "I wish I had more time" things...

I'm hoping that isn't what it appears to be: it looks like the dev is saying they don't intent to fix either the button help or the limited keybinding. The button help is less important, but have they noticed that other games do this without destroying the world?

More complete keybind options is obviously a more important issue, along with the menu / selection problems.

PS I still can't assign favorites, and yes, I know how to do it, and yes, I read the instructions, and no, I didn't re-bind the F/POV key key. Nothing happens when I try to assign a number to a favorite when it's selected.
User avatar
Jenna Fields
 
Posts: 3396
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 11:36 am

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 4:31 pm

A dev actually replied, in a different thread, about keymapping bugs. Just because they don't chime in everywhere doesn't mean they're not reading and/or responding. Patience...

That was the main thread that they didn't reply to. Can you please link to the place where they actually replied?

Thanks.
User avatar
josh evans
 
Posts: 3471
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 1:37 am

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 10:01 am

I knew I shoulda waited a coupla weeks before i went out and dropped 60$...but nooooooooo...i jusy had to have Skyrim.
As a left-handed mouse-user, I use the number pad on the right side of the keyboard (with the num loc on/off toggle that is like 20 keys right under my fingers.) to move around with
When I goto bebind those keys I keep getting this" Key Reserved" message
Why did the dev team did not think making keybindings editable was a good idea,I'll never know
This is what you get when you port a console game over to a PC too fast.

Well I'll be trying most keybinding help given here.
Thanks all.
HiredGun
User avatar
Laura Samson
 
Posts: 3337
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2007 6:36 pm

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 4:56 am

PC Games Class 100

Every game for PC should allow key binding for every action to the key pad and mouse; period.

I'm a lefty as well and for as long as I can remember I have used the numeric keypad for all my characters movements and several other actions.

I have a large drawer full of computer games and other than RTS's or strategy games I'm able to use the numeric keypad for all the game where I have a character that I run around with.

I suppose I'll try this hot key program to see if that works for me >.<

It's bad enough that the game isn't written to take advantage of PC hardware, but having a bad UI and not being able to key bind is over the top insane.

The only conclusion is that they do not care about the PC market other than they enjoy our extra money in their pockets.

This is my first Bethesda purchase and it may be my last.

It seems companies are creating a self fulling prophecy. PC game playing is dying so we'll add that platform as a last minute rushed after thought and our customers will get a half baked product. Many of them will be mad (and rightfully so) and will no longer purchase their half baked products. That will create a smaller PC market for their company and they'll proclaim "See the PC market is dying", but it will partially be one of their own making.

I'd be much happier if you didn't release crap like this. Don't release a PC version of the game unless you are going to do it right. I can handle not being able to play a title on PC, but when you take my money with out even implementing the A,B,C's of the format it's offensive.

I have no idea how much of the market for Bethesda is PC, but pissing that market off is the best way to get it closer to 0%

The irony? I had to go to 5 retailers before I snagged the last copy of the game at that retailer (the first 4 were out of the PC version). ALL retailers still had it in stock for Xbox & PS. I may have gotten the last retail copy in town for PC.

This tells me that either Bethesda, or the retailers under estimated the market for this product. Not enough for PC and perhaps too much for console.

I'll proli shelf this for awhile and hope that Bethesda patches some very basic UI and keybinding issue's; not to mention some tweaks so that the game runs as well as it can on PC's.
User avatar
Racheal Robertson
 
Posts: 3370
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 6:03 pm

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 7:41 am

That was the main thread that they didn't reply to. Can you please link to the place where they actually replied?

Thanks.

http://www.gamesas.com/index.php?/topic/1255647-pc-help-cant-drop-items/

The last response from a dev was the day *before* official release, obviously some people were already playing.
User avatar
Joey Avelar
 
Posts: 3370
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 11:11 am

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 6:22 am

http://www.gamesas.com/index.php?/topic/1255647-pc-help-cant-drop-items/

The last response from a dev was the day *before* official release, obviously some people were already playing.

I think the release was early on 11-11-11 local time for everyone, Thus some people got it earlier than others.

anyway, this looks promising:

sjvan0 and Morilibus, your bugs have been reproed here and summarily fixed. Basic run-down: remapping Toggle POV, Ready Weapon, and a few other events to mouse buttons was throwing things off. Also, Container menu wasn't properly listening for remapped events.

The fix will be rolled into the next Steam update. Sorry again for not catching this before release. Our remapping testing only goes as far as our creativity during development, which always falls short of how many different ways people conceive of bending their fingers. =P

Just so I and other devs don't constantly have to pop in to say it, keep posting any problems you're having. Soon, if not already, there will be a (very full, I'm sure) Skyrim Bugs sub-forum. We'll be watching, we'll be fixing, always fixing... Enjoy Skyrim!


So one fairly critical bug (Binding actions to the mouse) should be solved in a patch very soon atleast, I don't see anything about allowing remapping of the reserved keys, (allowing remapping of hotkey 1-8 and separating the numpad from the number keys at the top would be good)
User avatar
Trish
 
Posts: 3332
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 9:00 am

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 9:12 am

The irony? I had to go to 5 retailers before I snagged the last copy of the game at that retailer (the first 4 were out of the PC version). ALL retailers still had it in stock for Xbox & PS. I may have gotten the last retail copy in town for PC.

This tells me that either Bethesda, or the retailers under estimated the market for this product. Not enough for PC and perhaps too much for console.

I saw the same thing (and got the third-last PC copy), but unlike you, I asked about it. They told me they had ordered way more console copies in the first place, because "PC games don't really sell." The guy behind the counter thought it was because the specs are hard to meet, but with Skyrim, they're really not. I didn't ask if he thought Steam had anything to do with it. But those bigger stacks of console games you saw were actually representing the customers they're going to get in the next couple of days, not the ones that have already come and snatched up copies.

This is really stupid though. Why even bother making a PC version? Normally I say console TES is the pointless thing because of mods, but how much fun are mods going to be within this system anyway? And they don't need art, certainly not loads of memory worth it, to represent keys. They could just put the names of them in text. Other games don't struggle with this. Just because you need little icons of controller buttons....

Or lock the menu controls so they're not based on the combat ones we can set.

I honestly have no idea how to drop or store items after a day of playing this game and figuring most of the menus out by brute force. And it is not fun trying to get to the nearest city overencumbered.
User avatar
Justin Hankins
 
Posts: 3348
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 12:36 pm

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 7:22 am

Egads, see dupe post below. It didn't show up the first time I posted it.
User avatar
lauraa
 
Posts: 3362
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:20 pm

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 5:36 pm

I managed to get the favorites to assign if I reset all keybindings to default. Still not a fix, though autohotkey is sort of working for me now. Still messing with it, the larger problem is linked commands instead of separate ones.

I think part (but only part) of the mouse interface problem is there are static key hints (like in the inventory, on the bottom) that look like clickable commands (like in pop-up dialog windows). So people naturally assume that if it looks like another button that works, it should be a button that works.

If it's not a button, it shouldn't look like a button.
User avatar
JaNnatul Naimah
 
Posts: 3455
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 8:33 am

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 5:38 am

I finally have things just the way I like them, and I've logged 10 or so hours of gameplay too. However, I have proof that this process made me a little crazier than I was before. When I had everything just how I wanted it, I was left with four easily accessible keys mapped to no particular action. Remapping them to one-touch Favorites, for some inexplicable reason I included this in my script . . .

*Numpad2::
send {2 down}
return
*Numpad2 up::
send {2 up}
return


For people who aren't hip to AutHotKey, I remmaped the 2 on the numberpad to send signals as if a 2 key were being pressed. :facepalm:
User avatar
Allison C
 
Posts: 3369
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 11:02 am

PreviousNext

Return to V - Skyrim