Keybinding Issues #2 (Hotkeys, Favorites, NumPad, Drop Item,

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 5:35 am

No need I found these two files which might help you long ways!

Now keep bumping this or make it a sticky so people can actually get help on this key binding issue!

Cheers for this--I think you've just saved me some pending carpal tunnel. :foodndrink: This does allow us to skirt around the "that button is reserved" error, right?
User avatar
butterfly
 
Posts: 3467
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 8:20 pm

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 4:41 pm

Cheers for this--I think you've just saved me some pending carpal tunnel. :foodndrink: This does allow us to skirt around the "that button is reserved" error, right?

Yes essentially it does.
I believe the explanations I posted in the second post should help you understand what hex to insert for your desired key. You can also put "1" in row five (instead of "0") to allow the key to be edited in-game as well.
User avatar
Shae Munro
 
Posts: 3443
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 11:32 am

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 1:51 am

...Their reply concerns me.. They can't think of every possible way people can bend their fingers? You.. but.. huh? This wasn't a problem with Oblivion. Or Fallout 3. Or any other game before this.. Anyone more savvy with programming things such as keybindings that can explain how it factors into speed/memory AT ALL? 'Cause my dad does it with his games just fine...

I completely agree... if you are having trouble figuring out how people might "bend their fingers", how about just leaving it like every other game with mappable keys that has ever been made for the PC? Seems to have been working fine for about, say, forever. Why the sudden bizzarre decision to make some keys "reserved"?

Also... his reply doesn't really specifically say they are going to fix the reserved keys, but let's hope they are.
User avatar
Dalia
 
Posts: 3488
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:29 pm

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 5:10 pm

No need I found these two files which might help you long ways!

Keyboard
// 1st field: Keyboard key name, e.g. "Spacebar".  DO NOT ALTER!  This field is used to ID events in the code// 2nd: Key hardware value.  Matches DIK_* virtual key codes on PC// 3rd (Optional): Flash key code.  Used by Scaleform IO.  Not every key has a Flash key code.Esc	0x01	271	0x02	492	0x03	503	0x04	514	0x05	525	0x06	536	0x07	547	0x08	558	0x09	569	0x0a	570	0x0b	48Hyphen	0x0c	189Equal	0x0d	187Backspace	0x0e	8Tab	0x0f	9Q	0x10	81W	0x11	87E	0x12	69R	0x13	82T	0x14	84Y	0x15	89U	0x16	85I	0x17	73O	0x18	79P	0x19	80Bracketleft	0x1a	219Bracketright	0x1b	221Enter	0x1c	13L-Ctrl	0x1d	17A	0x1e	65S	0x1f	83D	0x20	68F	0x21	70G	0x22	71H	0x23	72J	0x24	74K	0x25	75L	0x26	76Semicolon	0x27	186Quotesingle	0x28	222Tilde	0x29	192L-Shift	0x2a	16Backslash	0x2b	220Z	0x2c	90X	0x2d	88C	0x2e	67V	0x2f	86B	0x30	66N	0x31	78M	0x32	77Comma	0x33	188Period	0x34	190Slash	0x35	191R-Shift	0x36	16NumPadMult	0x37	106L-Alt	0x38	18Space	0x39	32CapsLock	0x3a	20F1	0x3b	112F2	0x3c	113F3	0x3d	114F4	0x3e	115F5	0x3f	116F6	0x40	117F7	0x41	118F8	0x42	119F9	0x43	120F10	0x44	121NumLock	0x45	144ScrollLock	0x46	145NumPad7	0x47	103NumPad8	0x48	104NumPad9	0x49	105NumPadMinus	0x4a	109NumPad4	0x4b	100NumPad5	0x4c	101NumPad6	0x4d	102NumPadPlus	0x4e	107NumPad1	0x4f	97NumPad2	0x50	98NumPad3	0x51	99NumPad0	0x52	96NumPadDec	0x53	110DIK_OEM_102	0x56F11	0x57	122F12	0x58	123F13	0x64	124F14	0x65	125F15	0x66	126DIK_KANA	0x70DIK_ABNT_C1	0x73DIK_CONVERT	0x79DIK_NOCONVERT	0x7b¥	0x7dDIK_ABNT_C2	0x7eNumPadEqual	0x8dPrev Track	0x90DIK_AT	0x91:	0x92DIK_UNDERLINE	0x93DIK_KANJI	0x94DIK_STOP	0x95DIK_AX	0x96DIK_UNLABELED	0x97Next Track	0x99NumPadEnter	0x9c	108R-Ctrl	0x9d	17Mute	0xa0Calc	0xa1Play/Pause	0xa2MediaStop	0xa4Vol-	0xaeVol+	0xb0WebHome	0xb2NumPadComma	0xb3NumPadDivide	0xb5	111PrintSrc	0xb7R-Alt	0xb8	18Pause	0xc5	19Home	0xc7	36Up	0xc8	38PgUp	0xc9	33Left	0xcb	37Right	0xcd	39End	0xcf	35Down	0xd0	40PgDn	0xd1	34Insert	0xd2	45Delete	0xd3	46L-Windows	0xdbR-Windows	0xdcApps	0xddPower	0xdeSleep	0xdfWake	0xe3WebSearch	0xe5WebFavorites	0xe6WebRefresh	0xe7WebStop	0xe8WebForward	0xe9WebBack	0xeaMy Computer	0xebMail	0xecMediaSelect	0xed

Mouse
// 1st field: Mouse button name.  DO NOT ALTER!  This field is used to ID events in the code// 2nd: Key hardware value.// 3rd: Flash key code.  Used by Scaleform IO.  Not every key has a Flash key code.Mouse1	0x0	0Mouse2	0x1	1Mouse3	0x2	2Mouse4	0x3	Mouse5	0x4	Mouse6	0x5	Mouse7	0x6	Mouse8	0x7	MouseWheelUp	0x8	MouseWheelDown	0x9	MouseMove	0xa	

Now keep bumping this or make it a sticky so people can actually get help on this key binding issue!

You ma bro, bro.

...........
...................__
............./′ˉ/'...'/′ˉˉ`·?
........../'/.../..../......./¨ˉ\
........('(...′...′.... ˉ~/'...')
.........\.................'...../
..........''...\.......... _.·′
............\..............(
User avatar
Camden Unglesbee
 
Posts: 3467
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 8:30 am

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 12:17 pm

Also... his reply doesn't really specifically say they are going to fix the reserved keys, but let's hope they are.

To be frank, they'd better if they want my business again. As it is right now--I haven't tried the txt file fix posted in another thread; I really hope I can get it working properly--as a left-handed gamer, I can't play the game. Trying to use WASD is causing me physical pain. When combined with a mouse on the left-hand side of the keyboard, it puts my wrists at a very awkward and uncomfortable angle, and I wind up actually in pain after using it for any length of time.

There is no excuse for that. None. I want my numberpad back. At least there's a third party fix in the form of a text file; I'm going to have to try using that and see if I can force the game into obeying me that way.

But, you know, I shouldn't have to do that in the first place. This is a flat out disgrace.
User avatar
Izzy Coleman
 
Posts: 3336
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 3:34 am

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 8:13 am

I'm having similar problems, I can't assign any weapon or magic to my left hand unless I plug in a XBox controller
User avatar
amhain
 
Posts: 3506
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 12:31 pm

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 3:54 pm

Please don't bump, guys. I know it's tempting, especially given how fast threads are moving back in pages, but bumping will only get you warnings and possibly the thread locked, which is counterproductive.

Exactly.

Does this thread help?

http://www.gamesas.com/index.php?/topic/1262967-keyboard-binding-fix/
User avatar
jennie xhx
 
Posts: 3429
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 10:28 am

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 7:23 am

I have two or three issues here. One of them might not be keybinding related.

1) I remapped from WASD to QWES, setting D as use/activate. However, if I go to pick up a book I opened to read, neither D or the original E key work. I have to swap back to the default setting temporarily in order to pick up the book.
2) Again, with the remap from WASD to QWES, the game's hint dialogs do not reference the custom layout, but the original settings. This, at least, is a very common problem in computer games which have those dialogs hardcoded and don't look at individual client alias lists.
3) If I'm dual wielding two of the same weapon and switch to something else, I can't get the favorites list to let me equip those same weapons back to my separate hands again. It will let me equip to one or the other, not both. I stopped dual wielding because of that.
User avatar
Kirsty Collins
 
Posts: 3441
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 11:54 pm

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 4:36 am

PS I still can't assign favorites, and yes, I know how to do it, and yes, I read the instructions, and no, I didn't re-bind the F/POV key key. Nothing happens when I try to assign a number to a favorite when it's selected.

Just to be sure: You pick items in inventory that you want to be favorites. THEN you go into the favorites list and assign them numbers. I've got my stuff keyed up, and I didn't alter the F key bind either.
User avatar
Veronica Flores
 
Posts: 3308
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 5:26 pm

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 12:27 pm

Major mad props to Chobiko *and* MikeC, but Chobiko first.

Thanks to MikeC for the method to split off the numpad keys from the "reservation," which is what I was really after the most.
User avatar
Scotties Hottie
 
Posts: 3406
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 1:40 am

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 3:40 pm

Unfortunately, this doesn't work for me.

Skyrim crashes on startup, it won't even start.

I'm on XP, I put controlmap.txt into: C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\common\skyrim\Data\Interface\Controls\PC
User avatar
Jason Wolf
 
Posts: 3390
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 7:30 am

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 7:31 am

Can you post an actual download for the original controlmap.txt file? Or tell us how to extract it?

When I copy the contents you posted into controlmap.txt without making any changes, game crashes.

When I download the one posted on skyrimnexus.com, which has changes already made to it, the game runs.

So I want the original file with no changes, so that I can edit it myself, and the game won't crash...
User avatar
Leticia Hernandez
 
Posts: 3426
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 9:46 am

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 12:44 pm

Got it... used the Fallout 3 Archive Utility...

OMG this is SO good... now all keys are bound the way I want them...

Why Bethesda just can't do things like this in the first place is beyond me, why users have to "fix" things I'll never understand...

On the other hand, the fact that Bethesda builds a highly moddable game is good.
User avatar
DarkGypsy
 
Posts: 3309
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 11:32 am

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 9:23 am

Okay, first, here's the link to download the skyrimnexus version of the controlmap file.

http://www.skyrimnexus.com/downloads/file.php?id=88#content

1) That one doesn't crash.
2) That one doesn't enable the numpad keys.
3) When I edit it, it still doesn't crash, but it also doesn't change the keybinds the way I edited it.

This is freaking disgusting. I've spent two damned days trying to get this damn game working.
User avatar
Frank Firefly
 
Posts: 3429
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 9:34 am

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 10:01 am

Update - with the downloaded file from SkyrimNexus:

Replace the last two characters only of the second scan code for the hotkeys with ff.

i.e.:

Hotkey1				0x02,0x4f			0xff	0x0004				0	0	0	0x908Hotkey2				0x03,0x50			0xff	0x0008				0	0	0	0x908Hotkey3				0x04,0x51			0xff	0xff				0	0	0	0x908Hotkey4				0x05,0x4b			0xff	0xff				0	0	0	0x908Hotkey5				0x06,0x4c			0xff	0xff				0	0	0	0x908Hotkey6				0x07,0x4d			0xff	0xff				0	0	0	0x908Hotkey7				0x08,0x47			0xff	0xff				0	0	0	0x908Hotkey8				0x09,0x48			0xff	0xff				0	0	0	0x908

becomes:

Hotkey1				0x02,0xff			0xff	0x0004				0	0	0	0x908Hotkey2				0x03,0xff			0xff	0x0008				0	0	0	0x908Hotkey3				0x04,0xff			0xff	0xff				0	0	0	0x908Hotkey4				0x05,0xff			0xff	0xff				0	0	0	0x908Hotkey5				0x06,0xff			0xff	0xff				0	0	0	0x908Hotkey6				0x07,0xff			0xff	0xff				0	0	0	0x908Hotkey7				0x08,0xff			0xff	0xff				0	0	0	0x908Hotkey8				0x09,0xff			0xff	0xff				0	0	0	0x908

And this will allows you to bind the numpad keys, though it will show the scancode instead of the key name, it works.

I will update if I get other things working.
User avatar
Dustin Brown
 
Posts: 3307
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 6:55 am

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 5:15 pm

And this will allows you to bind the numpad keys, though it will show the scancode instead of the key name, it works.
It will show that code instead of the name even without this fix. You can currently map Num Lock in the game by default, but instead of reporting it as Num Lock, it reports it as 0x45.
User avatar
Vickytoria Vasquez
 
Posts: 3456
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 7:06 pm

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 1:24 am

Still working with the above "change to ff" fix.

I have not got "take all and close container" working "properly" yet, it does not match my binding for "ready" like it did with autohotkey (which broke other things).

It's probably hardcoded (WTFBBQ?) as it's not in the control map separately.

I also could not find it in interface.bsa except for the default Ready item and a few copies of the scan code alphabet in order, and one listing that appeared to be for media player commands (play, pause, next media). It was listed as pause.

I guess you could change all the scan codes and then run autohotkey just to remap the "R" key. (But then it would have to set your "ready" key back to "R").

PS the one key I still have AHK remapping is the one causing (or triggering or happening at the same time as) by remaining CTDs, about 1 out of 100 presses. It is a really common key to use so the crashes are pretty frequent.
User avatar
megan gleeson
 
Posts: 3493
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 2:01 pm

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 5:38 am


And as someone else already pointed out, it makes even less sense when you consider that any dev would already know in cases like that, you use text, not graphics, to let players know what command to use. Well, unless we're talking console. In THAT case, yes you'd have a little graphic. But I'm not playing on a console, I'm on a PC.

Furthermore, I doubt the dev for another reason. Even if they decided to use graphics, all you do is code it so that it calls GraphicKey049 (just an example) to be displayed for the command. In my pretend example, GraphicKey049 is the graphic that will be displayed for the Close or Exit button anywhere it is appropriate. So, if I change my key mapping for that button, the game assigns a new graphic to GraphicKey049, one that will now display the correct graphic for the key I have selected. That's pretty basic. So this talk about having to search through tons of images every time you open a menu makes very little sense at all.

The answer to this really is consoles. They have icons on their controls, hence graphics and not text. And if the have graphics we have graphics. Say even one thing that has been changed to accomodiate pc when they ported this from the consoles to us. After all this I'm really amazed they even implemented the BASIC PC GAME feature to re-define keys.. no wait they [censored] that up aswell xD. This is so sad it almost is hilarious. But the PC porting issues aside, I do love the game underneath.
User avatar
Andres Lechuga
 
Posts: 3406
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 8:47 pm

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 9:41 am

Hi guys,

Can't say I'm surprised to see another Beth game launched with game breaking issues that usually take weeks (or longer to fix). At any rate, I'm wondering if anyone has solved these Keybinding issues? In my case, I normally use my Mouse Left Click for Attack and Right Mouse for Jump, but since Skyrim has dual welding as a new feature, I use Right Mouse for Right Hand and Left Mouse for Left hand. Problem is, I cannot for the life of me seem to be able to bind both hands. I can get a shield in my left hand by just equipping it in the menu, but trying to equip a spell or second weapon in both hands is proving to be a challenge, not to mention that navigating through the menus is very tiresome and a major annoyance.

Has anyone come up with a solution to binding the mouse keys correctly and getting the same spell or weapon to work in both hands?

Thanks in advance.

Cheers!

Well, I mightily moaned about the keymapping too on release day (on this forum somewhere) I was very reluctant to try a third-party app (AHK) but I've since installed Autohotkey - it was that or just not playing it - and have to admit I'm pretty happy with the results, my script is below if it's any use to anyone (though of course you can edit the bindings to your prefs easily) I'm a leftie. I just have to figure how to add "jump" to my keypad+ then I'm fully set, but I was keen to get playing. Secondly, the time it takes to turn 360 with the mouse was ridiculously slow, but in the game settings, I moved the "look" speed to full and now my fella spins around with ease, so the end result is I'm now starting to play the game. and am happier. On the PC the game looks and plays brilliantly so far. I hope the devs take our concerns seriously and get a pach sorted asap because it is really disheartening to be left out in the cold after paying for the PC version, anyhow, there are answers (temp workarounds) about for most of the key binding probs and I hope all PC players can soon get cracking with this game. Maybe look at resolving the UI issues as your first "quest" :-)

==============================
my ahk script below:
==============================
;
; AutoHotkey Version: 1.x
; Language: English
; Platform: Win9x/NT
; Author: A.N.Other
;
; Script Function:
; Template script (you can customize this template by editing "ShellNew\Template.ahk" in your Windows folder)
;

#NoEnv ; Recommended for performance and compatibility with future AutoHotkey releases.
SendMode Input ; Recommended for new scripts due to its superior speed and reliability.
SetWorkingDir %A_ScriptDir% ; Ensures a consistent starting directory.
#NoEnv
SendMode Input
SetWorkingDir %A_ScriptDir%

Numpad7::r
;r ready/sheathe

Numpad5::w
;w is walk forward

Numpad4::a
;a is strafe left

Numpad9::e
;e is activate

Numpad6::D
;d is strafe right

Numpad1::z
;z is shout/power

Numpad2::s
;s is Walk back

Numpad3::j
;J is journal

NumpadDot::Tab
;Tab is character menu

numpad8::q
;q is Favorites menu
User avatar
Epul Kedah
 
Posts: 3545
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 3:35 am

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 9:43 am

I'm having similar problems, I can't assign any weapon or magic to my left hand unless I plug in a XBox controller

The only way I've been able to equip things in my Left Hand is by doing the following.

For weapons: I need to first my the item a Favorite, then I can equip it via the favorites menu and hitting the key/button that is for the Left Hand.

For Magic: I can either do it via Favorites above, OR, I can equip the spell from the spells menu using the "Active" Key.

I am unable to equip items via the inventory.
User avatar
Batricia Alele
 
Posts: 3360
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 8:12 am

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 4:35 am

Well, I mightily moaned about the keymapping too on release day (on this forum somewhere) I was very reluctant to try a third-party app (AHK) but I've since installed Autohotkey - it was that or just not playing it - and have to admit I'm pretty happy with the results, my script is below if it's any use to anyone

Unfortunately, your script, as every other Autohotkey script I've tried, fails to do anything inside the game. Outside, in a variety of applications, testing shows AHK is doing its job exactly as expected for whichever script I'm trying, but in-game there's no response at all, except to the originally-assigned keys. The wait to play continues.
User avatar
His Bella
 
Posts: 3428
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2007 5:57 am

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 3:48 am

In my case, I'm able to remap everything and use my numpad with the exception of the following actions:

1. Cannot Take Book

The only workaround that I have for this, is I can order a companion to "Read" book and then take it from his or her inventory. Otherwise, I can read books, but "press E to take" does not work when reading the book.

2. Cannot Drop Items

I can only remove items from my inventory by opening a container or transferring items to a follower.

3. Cannot Equip Left Hand / Dual Wield Favorites Using Hotkeys.

I can set up favorites so that the "3" key corresponds to a particular spell, and if I press it twice in quick succession, it equips the same spell in both hands. However, this does not work properly for one-handed melee weapons as the favorites hotkey always equips the item in my right hand.
User avatar
Mrs shelly Sugarplum
 
Posts: 3440
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2006 2:16 am

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 11:26 am

In my case, I'm able to remap everything and use my numpad with the exception of the following actions:

1. Cannot Take Book

The only workaround that I have for this, is I can order a companion to "Read" book and then take it from his or her inventory. Otherwise, I can read books, but "press E to take" does not work when reading the book.

2. Cannot Drop Items

I can only remove items from my inventory by opening a container or transferring items to a follower.

3. Cannot Equip Left Hand / Dual Wield Favorites Using Hotkeys.

I can set up favorites so that the "3" key corresponds to a particular spell, and if I press it twice in quick succession, it equips the same spell in both hands. However, this does not work properly for one-handed melee weapons as the favorites hotkey always equips the item in my right hand.

I'm using the excellent solution from http://www.gamesas.com/index.php?/topic/1262967-keyboard-binding-fix/, and I've found that I pick up books by using "Activate". I also, however, can't drop anything, and thus must find a container, and I'm avoiding duel-wielding because I'm getting tired of problems and don't want to deal with another.
User avatar
Sarah Evason
 
Posts: 3507
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 10:47 pm

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 8:12 am

This bug is in the Code for the 1 - 8 hotkeys, not the the " Favorites " button

In order to reproduce it consistently you need at least 4 hotkeys
1 for the left hand 1 for the right hand
2 for a dual handed weapon like the bow and Great Sword

Lets say :
1. Shield
2. Sword
3. Bow
4. Great Sword

You can toggle sword and shield all day. You can double tap 2 to dual wield the swords
and hit 1 to raise your shield. No issues no matter what.
Hit 3 to Get your Bow handy - Fine
Hit 4 to switch Great Sword - may or may not work.
The problem shows up when going to the second dual handed weapon
or going from the second back to the first.
One of them loses its hotkey. It's still favorited but the Hotkey is Lost.
You have to bring up your favorites menu again to Reassign the Hotkey - only to loose it again.
Shield and Sword still work and One of the Dual Handed weapons work. One Doesn't.

Problems

Love this Game so far. But my hotkeys are Crucial
The Code needs cleaning.
User avatar
Donald Richards
 
Posts: 3378
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 3:59 am

Post » Fri May 18, 2012 5:47 am

Update - with the downloaded file from SkyrimNexus:

Replace the last two characters only of the second scan code for the hotkeys with ff.

Thank you, thank you, thank you. This fix was very much appreciated.
User avatar
Sarah Knight
 
Posts: 3416
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:02 am

PreviousNext

Return to V - Skyrim